Confronting Antisemitism with Facing History: Educator Workshop

April 22, 2021
Confronting Antisemitism
California-Northern
Details
Course Type:
Workshop

3:00–4:30 PM PT
4:00–5:30 PM MT
5:00–6:30 PM CT
6:00–7:30 PM ET

Confronting Antisemitism with Facing History: Educator Workshop

Offered in partnership with the Jewish Family and Children’s Services Holocaust Center

Racism, antisemitism, and other forms of bigotry—which were at the root of so much of the inhumanity of the twentieth century—have not gone away. Race, religion, and nationalism are ideas still used to divide societies into “in groups” and “out groups”. How can our school communities be places where we prevent these ideas from taking root?

Join Jewish Family and Children’s Services Holocaust Center and Facing History and Ourselves to explore frameworks, resources, and teaching strategies that empower students and educators to identify and address the “we and they” dynamics caused by racism, antisemitism, and nationalism. Using Facing History’s pedagogical approach, participants will envision ways they might use the lessons of history to contribute to the process of creating a more just, humane, and compassionate school community. Opportunities for community commemoration and peer education will be provided. Resources for this series will include survivor testimony.

This workshop is geared towards educators grades 6-12.

Please register through our Partner's website at the link below. This workshop will be held via Zoom. Details for joining the Zoom meeting will be shared by email prior to the event.

 

Register


 
Online via Zoom
CA
United States
April 22, 2021
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

Search Our Global Collection

Everything you need to get started teaching your students about racism, antisemitism and prejudice.